Nature of course:  Open to internal GSTT attendees only

Course Director: Dr Shumontha Dev, Consultant in Emergency Medicine, and Mags Jubbs, Placement Development Manager

SaIL_JPerugia-4835
De-briefing session taking place

Outline:

During this one day course candidates have an introductory lecture and a session to familiarise them with the simulation environment, followed by several simulated clinical communication scenarios.

Debriefing sessions take place after each scenario, where candidates can reflect on their and the group’s performance, guided by experienced facilitators.

Objectives:

This course reinforces foundation curriculum learning. It uses common clinical situations ranging from acute emergencies to communication-based scenarios.

It introduces the interpersonal and cognitive skills required to perform effectively in complex clinical situations through ‘human factors’ training – also known as non-technical skills (NTS).

Attendees:

For foundation doctors, years 1 and 2, and newly qualified preceptorship nurses & midwives

Adult dates:

  • Monday 24th April 2017
  • Wednesday 10th May 2017
  • Wednesday 31st May 2017
  • Friday 30th June 2017

Paediatric dates:

  • Monday 5th June 2017
  • Wednesday 14th June 2017
  • Tuesday 20th June 2017
  • Monday 26th June 2017
  • Tuesday 27th June 2017

Community dates:

  • Wednesday 5th July 2017
  • Monday 10th July 2017

Midwifery dates:

  • To be announced

Cost:

There is no charge to attendees.  These sessions are open to GSTT staff only.

Contact:

Attendees will be given a date by their foundation programme co-ordinator or nursing preceptorship programme co-ordinator.